The Formula-K Circuit in Benoni, Gauteng hosted the ROK Cup South Africa for its inaugural visit to the circuit as the MSA National Karting Championship commenced its second round of the championship (along with Round 2 of its regional championship) on May 14-15.

Friday’s conditions were near perfect as ROKKERS from across the country arrived to take to the track, including Zimbabwean competitor Zach Dufty. Saturday morning’s qualifying sessions sorted out the grid for the class heats that would once again deliver some of the best kart racing in the country.


In the most junior category on the day, six Bambino drivers contested for the overall win, trophy and prize money on offer. Michael Danks came out on top with three trips to the podium, including two victories. Santiago Frade put in a top drive in the final heat to take his only podium on the day and pip Kayde Cornofsky for the overall runner-up position. Cornofsky scored an impressive three third positions on the day.


Jack Moore extended his lead in the championship following a repeat overall win. Moore had his hands full with overall runner-up, Rafael da Silva, after the two were practically inseparable over the three heats. While Da Silva got one over Moore in the final heat, it was Moore’s two opening heat victories that sealed the final result in favour of the Port Elizabeth driver. Kai van Rensburg placed third overall.


The class that always delivers the most entertaining lap-by-lap action once again lived up to its reputation with 21 drivers filling the Benoni grid. Luviwe Sambudla was crowned the overall Mini ROK winner, following two hard-fought victories. A consistent point’s finish saw local lad, Caleb Cotterell, place second ahead of Wian Boshoff, a podium finisher in Heat 1. It was, however, Sambudla’s maiden class victory that saw the Squadra Corse driver comfortably take the overall win ahead of some talented Mini ROK drivers. Overall positions two through to seven were separated by a mere six points.

In the Mini ROK U/10 Championship, Mattao Mason, picked up where he left off in Cape Town with a another overall victory to extend his lead in the championship.


Reigning and defending champion, Nikolas Roos, took the overall class win ahead of runner up, Troy Snyman. Snyman who made his first 2021 appearance was in good form and kept Roos honest for the most part, but eventually came up short allowing RKT driver, Roos, to record another hat trick of wins and remain unbeaten in the 2021 OKJ Championship. KC Ensor-Smith took third overall claiming a second place finish as his best on the day.


The exciting “Shifter” class with its standing starts and neck-jerking acceleration put on another great display of kart-driving skill with national touring car champion, Keagan Masters, awarded the overall victory after taking two wins from three races. Backing him up in the second position was fellow Squadra Corse driver and former GP2/3 driver, Roman de Beer. Defending champion, Fabienne Lanz, took the third overall position.

While not competing as part of the national calendar, the KZ and KZ Masters class participated regionally in the MSA Northern Regions Regional Kart Championship this weekend. In the KZ class it was Connor Rogers who made it a clean sweep of wins ahead of Calvin Dias and Craig Koekemoer in the final results. The overall KZ Masters trophy went to Paulo Dias ahead of Wayne Masters and Miguel Dias.


The ROK Cup SA extends its thanks to the Formula K Circuit and its staff, all officials, medical staff and marshals whom without, the successful hosting of this championship round would not be possible. We would also like to thank all ROKKERS and congratulate all our winners.

Round 3 of the MSA National Karting Championship is set to take place on June 25-26 at the iDube Kart Track in Camperdown, KwaZulu Natal.

Raymond Cornwell